The Low Stakes player’s guide to the WCOOP weekend

September 07, 2018

How to play WCOOP this weekend for less than dinner and a movie

If you’re a low stakes poker player, you know that it’s one thing to look at the WCOOP schedule and see 36 events looking back at you. It’s something else to work out how best to play them.

How do you stretch a bankroll and still get the full WCOOP experience?

Here we break down the WCOOP weekend into manageable chunks.

We’ve listed events by day, and by price. We’re calling anything under $55 “Low Stakes”.

We figure you’d spend more than that if you went out for dinner, drinks and a movie tonight.

Throw in the price of a babysitter and you could probably double that. In fact, you can find those events (called “high rollers”) by scrolling down to the bottom of this post.

But for now, let’s stick to $55.

Finally, we’ve highlighted our Pick of the Day. These are events that offer great value, and will attract big fields of fellow players with the same idea.

FRIDAY

The good news is that most WCOOP events start after you’ve finished work. The bad news is, well, there’s only bad news if you need to be at work again tomorrow. Because you might not sleep much.

But you’re a poker player. You already knew that. And there’s nothing like going to work as an exhausted World Champion.

How exhausted is up to you. The pick of the day is WCOOP-23-L, a $22 buy-in NLHE tournament with a $200K guarantee.

16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-22-L: $11 PLO8 [8-Max], $25K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-23-L: $22 NLHE, $200K Gtd

And if you can’t or don’t sleep…

21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-24-L: $5.50 NLHE [3-Max, Turbo, Progressive KO, Zoom], $60K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-24-M: $55 NLHE [3-Max, Turbo, Progressive KO, Zoom], $250K Gtd

SATURDAY

Few WCOOP weekend events will put you in as good a mood as a $5.50 rebuy hold’em tournament. Especially one with $125K guaranteed.
That’s what WCOOP-26-L offers.

That’s the pick of the day for anyone who likes their poker to cost about the same as the coffee you’ll need tomorrow morning.

16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-25-L: $22 8-Game, $50K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-26-L: $5.50+R NLHE, $125K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-26-M: $55+R NLHE, $300K Gtd

Sleep is for wimps…

19:30 ET/ 00:30AM BST: WCOOP-27-L: $55 PLO [6-Max], $100K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-28-L: $55 NLHE [8-Max, Turbo], $250K Gtd

SUNDAY

Rest up if you want to, but Sunday offers an earlier start for European poker players.

That makes the pick for the day WCOOP-29-L, an $11 8-Max Progressive KO, with a guarantee of $75K.

13:00 ET/ 6PM BST: WCOOP-29-L: $11 NLHE [8-Max, Progressive KO], $75K Gtd
15:30 ET/ 8:30PM BST: WCOOP-30-L: $55 NLHE, $250K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-31-L: $11 NLHE, $200K Gtd

For anyone not thinking about Monday morning…

20:00 ET/ 01:00AM BST: WCOOP-32-L: $5.50 NLO8 [8-Max], $20K Gtd
20:00 ET/ 01:00AM BST: WCOOP-32-M: $55 NLO8 [8-Max], $50K Gtd
22:00 ET/ 03:00AM BST: WCOOP-33-L: $22 NLHE [6-Max], $100K Gtd

But there’s more…

Those were the events with a maximum buy-in of $55. But there’s more going on this weekend, and not all reserved for those with plenty to spend (remember that babysitter we mentioned?).

You can win your way into every event his weekend in satellites currently running on PokerStars. And any of the links below will take you there.

Whatever you end up playing, have a great weekend. Let us know how things go.

The full weekend WCOOP schedule

Friday 7 September

16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-22-L: $11 PLO8 [8-Max], $25K Gtd 16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-22-M: $109 PLO8 [8-Max], $75K Gtd
16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-22-H: $1,050 PLO8 [8-Max], $150K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-23-L: $22 NLHE, $200K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-23-M: $215 NLHE, $400K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-23-H: $2,100 NLHE, $600K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-24-L: $5.50 NLHE [3-Max, Turbo, Progressive KO, Zoom], $60K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-24-M: $55 NLHE [3-Max, Turbo, Progressive KO, Zoom], $250K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-24-H: $530 NLHE [3-Max, Turbo, Progressive KO, Zoom], $500K Gtd

Saturday 8 September

16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-25-L: $22 8-Game, $50K Gtd
16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-25-M: $215 8-Game, $75K Gtd
16:00 ET/ 9PM BST: WCOOP-25-H: $2,100 8-Game, $250K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-26-L: $5.50+R NLHE, $125K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-26-M: $55+R NLHE, $300K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-26-H: $530+R NLHE, $500K Gtd
19:30 ET/ 00:30AM BST: WCOOP-27-L: $55 PLO [6-Max], $100K Gtd
19:30 ET/ 00:30AM BST: WCOOP-27-M: $530 PLO [6-Max], $250K Gtd
19:30 ET/ 00:30AM BST: WCOOP-27-H: $5,200 PLO [6-Max, High Roller], $500K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-28-L: $55 NLHE [8-Max, Turbo], $250K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-28-M: $530 NLHE [8-Max, Turbo], $400K Gtd
21:00 ET/ 02:00AM BST: WCOOP-28-H: $5,200 NLHE [8-Max, Turbo, High Roller], $500K Gtd

Sunday 9 September

13:00 ET/ 6PM BST: WCOOP-29-L: $11 NLHE [8-Max, Progressive KO], $75K Gtd
13:00 ET/ 6PM BST: WCOOP-29-M: $109 NLHE [8-Max, Progressive KO, Sunday Kickoff SE], $300K Gtd
13:00 ET/ 6PM BST: WCOOP-29-H: $1,050 NLHE [8-Max, Progressive KO], $600K Gtd
15:30 ET/ 8:30PM BST: WCOOP-30-L: $55 NLHE, $250K Gtd
15:30 ET/ 8:30PM BST: WCOOP-30-M: $530 NLHE [Sunday Warm-Up SE], $750K Gtd
15:30 ET/ 8:30PM BST: WCOOP-30-H: $5,200 NLHE [High Roller], $1M Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-31-L: $11 NLHE, $200K Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-31-M: $109 NLHE [Half Price Sunday Million], $1M Gtd
18:00 ET/ 11PM BST: WCOOP-31-H: $1,050 NLHE, $1.5M Gtd
20:00 ET/ 01:00AM BST: WCOOP-32-L: $5.50 NLO8 [8-Max], $20K Gtd
20:00 ET/ 01:00AM BST: WCOOP-32-M: $55 NLO8 [8-Max], $50K Gtd
20:00 ET/ 01:00AM BST: WCOOP-32-H: $530 NLO8 [8-Max], $125K Gtd
22:00 ET/ 03:00AM BST: WCOOP-33-L: $22 NLHE [6-Max], $100K Gtd
22:00 ET/ 03:00AM BST: WCOOP-33-M: $215 NLHE [6-Max], $250K Gtd
22:00 ET/ 03:00AM BST: WCOOP-33-H: $2,100 NLHE [6-Max], $500K Gtd

Find more details about this year’s Championship on the WCOOP 2018 homepage.

Loading...

Next Story

Loading...