P1 Million Guarantee: Anthony Gabitan is Day 1C Chip Leader; Chip Counts

May 16, 2015

Anthony GabitanDay 1C of the PokerStars Live Manila PHP1 Million Guarantee held at City of Dreams Manila, Philippines ended with lots of chips swinging in many wild directions that sent some booming way up and some way down and out. The beneficiary of good fortune went to Anthony Gabitan of the Philippines who ended his day at the top of the rung with 287,500 chips while players Myung Ho Han aka Dr. Han and Mike Takayama took big hits to fall out of the running.

With 17 left in the field and only 10 making the cut into the final day, Gabitan got cracking with his 24,000 chips during the final hour and a half of play. Gabitan landed two double ups against Takayama, first with his 5♥5♣ surviving against Takayama’s A♥Q♠, then shortly after, his K-Q got lucky and found a king on the river against Takayama’s pocket queens. With a healthy 100,000 chips to muscle around, Gabitan then took a sick hit, losing half his stack, when his K♠K♦ was burned by a tablemate’s K♣K♥ that flushed on the board of 5♥6♥10♥9♥Q♦. But he bounced right back.

Gabitan eliminated a player with his pocket nines, and then followed it up with a massive double up against big-stacked Dr. Han with a full house that sent him straight into the chip leader’s seat. Running a close second was Cary Allen Ison with 256,500 chips.

Out of the 129 entries for Day 1C, 10 players qualified into the final day. They return tomorrow to join the 18 players who made the cut in the previous Day 1 flights. All qualifiers are guaranteed PHP15,000 and will battle it out starting at 1215PM Manila time for the top dog prize of PHP250,000 plus a seat (worth PHP50,000) to the Asia Pacific Poker Tour 9 Manila Main Event held from July 30-August 9, 2015.

Congratulations to all the qualifiers!

PokerStars Live Manila: PHP1 Million Guarantee
Total Entries: 368
Qualifiers: 28
Prize Pool: PHP1,249,360

Qualifiers / Chip Counts
Byeongcheol Kim – South Korea – 345,500
Anthony Gabitan – Philippines – 287,500
Cary Allen Ison – Philippines – 256,500
Nicolas Arceo – Philippines – 204,500
Nickolai Alexandrov – United States – 199,500
Edward Tan – Philippines – 163,000
Jutae Kim – Korea – 150,000
Kilsuck Yang – Korea – 149,000
Reynaldo Concepcion – Philippines – 132,000
Dillip Ajitkumar – India – 127,500
Adora Gonzaga – Philippines – 127,000
Jester Intia – Philippines – 126,500
Leonard Alban – Philippines – 126,000
Raphael Berroya Bulaong – Philippines – 114,000
Gerald Casey – Unites States – 113,000
Edgar Angelo Felix – Philippines – 98,000
Manuel Regis – Philippines – 92,500
Wyngard Brillo – Philippines – 87,500
Mark Lloyd – Australia – 87,000
May Josef – Philippines – 78,000
Mark Race – Philippines – 76,000
Justin Mondero – Philippines – 65,000
Khoo Zhongren – Singapore – 56,000
Bernardo Angeles – Philippines – 48,500
Antonio Lugo – Philippines – 213,500
George Martel – Philippines – 83,500
Edwin Marzan – Philippines – 44,000
Jose Javier Medina – Philippines – 42,000

*Prize Pool Distribution will be displayed tomorrow.


Next Story