Young Russian Max Lykov, who won EPT Kyiv at the start of Season 6, has been named Player of the Year at the EPT Awards in Monte Carlo.

The ceremony was hosted by Team PokerStars Pro Vicky Coren and EPT founder John Duthie and took place at the stylish Karement Club at the start of the EPT Grand Final wrap party on Friday.

Lykov was already leading the race to be Player of the Year before the Grand Final started. As well as Kyiv, he made the money in two side events and finished 13th at EPT Snowfest. However his cash in the very first event of the Grand Final – the €5,250 heads-up tournament – gave him an extra 19 points and put him well ahead of his opponents.

He said: “This is awesome. I worked very hard to win this. I played almost all the EPT Main Events, I played a lot of side events. I am very pleased. This is great for my profile as a player.”


Max Lykov

The EPT Achievement of the Year, voted for by Season 6 Main Event players, was won by Danish pro Allan Baekke who took down EPT Snowfest in March and followed it up with a 12th place finish at San Remo a few weeks later.

The Players’ Choice Award was won by EPT Berlin champion Kevin MacPhee who said: “I feel awesome about winning this because I’m American and this is the European Poker Tour. I’ve made a lot of friends in every single place I’ ve gone and I feel like I have friends in every single country in the world now. To be voted by them is really special.”

Team PokerStars Pro William Thorson was thrilled to win the Omaha Award. He dominated these events in Season 6, winning two of them.

Pierre Neuville, the 68-year-old retired businessman from Belgium won Online Qualifier of the Year. Neuville, dubbed the Serial PokerStars Qualifier by the PokerStars Blog, qualified for ten of the 13 Season 6 events and had several cashes including runner-up at EPT Vilamoura. He said: “I’m simply the happiest poker player in the world. It couldn’t be better. It’s my best poker day in my life. With this award, I don’t mind if I have a bad beat forever.”

The Mixed Game Player of the Year award was an eight-way tie which will be decided with an online Deep Stack Sit and Go on PokerStars in May. They are: Matthias Kuerschner, Team PokerStars Pro Katja Thater and Benjamin Kang from Germany, Americans Scott Clements and Mike Gorodinsky, Team PokerStars Pro Joe Hachem from Australia, Ilari Tahkokallio from Finland and Russian Team PokerStars Pro Alex Kravchenko.

Largely due to stunning performances from Jan Skampa, winner of EPT Prague, and Martin Kabrhel who won three side events in Season 6, the Country of the Year award goes to the Czech Republic. All Czech players who cashed this season are now invited to take part in a special freeroll during EPT Prague in December 2010 with a $10,000 prize pool.

All the individual award winners receive a prize package – hotel accommodation and Main Event buy-in – for the first event of EPT Season 7 in Tallinn, Estonia from August 11-16.

Congratulations to all our winners.


Next Story