EPT Deauville: Fallers and stayers

January 22, 2009

The familiar day two refrain, “Seat open!” has begun to ring out across Casino Barriere. The short stacks have been shoving, the big stacks have been calling and there’s a queue at the door to the exit.

Vanessa Rousso was near the front of it. The Team PokerStars Pro’s final 7,000 chips went in during the first orbit and she has now departed, leaving only Isabelle Mercier bearing the Team’s livery today.

_MG_4640_Neil Stoddart.jpg

The defending French Open champion Mats Iremark is also one of the early fallers. Iremark ran A-9 into 10-9 but the flop of K-Q-J was emphatic and this picture speaks a thousand words:


Still this remains a star-studded affair. Another former champion Joao Barbosa, who only began his EPT career this season and won at his fourth attempt in Warsaw, is up on the stage and still in the hunt. So too the PokerStars qualifiers Josh Prager, Conor Crilly, Moritz Kranich and Janek Schleicher.

We’ll endeavour to catch up with them all at some point today.


Next Story