APPT8 Macau Day 4: Nine set to become one

May 25, 2014

Dinh Le. Eddie Sabat. Dermot Blain. Victorino Torres. Randy Lew. Alexandre Chieng.

These are all the names that have been immortalised as victors of APPT Macau.

Sometime late on Sunday evening one more player will join this pantheon of champions.

That means eight players will fall short, wondering what could have been.

All nine of these players have recently entered the PokerStars LIVE Macau poker room.


Tournament Director Rex Cheong calls the players to the final table

The player with the most chips heading into the final table is a Scottish chap by the name Thomas Mcgarrity. The 23-year old hails from Glasgow, but has played plenty of poker here in Macau. Mcgarrity will be looking to see the APPT Macau final table turn into the story of his first major live tournament result. He has a good chance to do just that with his 2,865,000 in chips hailing above all others.

The next closest competitor to Mcgarrity at the final table is China’s Jiajun Liu. He will start the day with 1,915,000 in chips. Liu has been one of the most flamboyant players in the tournament, rivalled perhaps only by final table short stack Billy “The Croc” Argyros.

Speaking of Argyros, this is his chance to become the first-ever player to win two APPT titles after winning the Melbourne Main Event last year. The Australian Poker Hall of Fame member has just about done it all and this achievement would be a great reward for decades of dedication to the game of poker.

Argyros, Mcgarrity and Liu will be joined at the final table by two Frenchmen in Jean Marie Peyron and Andre Cyril, a couple of Taiwanese players in Chen Yen Han and Carlos Chang and two players from Hong Kong in Yat Wai Cheng and Sailesh Verma.

This is how the nine lineup:

Seat 1: Carlos Kuo Chang – 935,000
Seat 2: Thomas Mcgarrity – 2,865,000
Seat 3: Billy “The Croc” Argyros – 325,000
Seat 4: Sailesh Verma – 405,000
Seat 5: Jean Marie Peyron – 435,000
Seat 6: Jiajun Liu – 1,915,000
Seat 7: Chen Yen Han – 520,000
Seat 8: Yat Wai Cheng – 875,000
Seat 9: Cyril Andre- 1,545,000

Click here to learn more about the nine remaining players.

All the players are currently ripping open their bags, getting some pictures taken and getting ready for the action to commence at 2:00 p.m. local time. Be sure to check out the APPT8 Macau page here at the PokerStarsBlog and find out who is crowned the champion and how they get there!


Next Story