ANZPT6 Melbourne Day 3: Down to a double dozen

September 01, 2014

The first two hours of play on Day 3 of the ANZPT Melbourne Main Event have come and gone. It’s been a real grind for our players with everyone desperate to continue their journey towards the final table.

The first casualty of the day was surprisingly Michael Chrisanthopoulos who started the day with a healthy chip stack.


Chrisanthopoulos was also one of the more experienced players in the field, with results dating back to 2007, highlighted by his 3rd place finish in the 2008 Aussie Millions Main Event. Chrisanthopoulos also finished in 19th place in this very event last year.

However Chrisanthopoulos was unable to match that mark after he came unstuck with top pair and a flush draw against Robert Demelian’s set. That left Chrisanthopoulos short and when his A♥K♥ couldn’t win the coinflip against Damien Walsh’s pocket nines, he was out in 34th place.

Scott Herz, Yangi Ge and Hyunku Kang also hit the rail before 2012 ANZ Player of the Year runner-up Anthony Aston had the cards go against him to fall in 30th place.

Jacque Ramsden followed in 29th before Damien Walsh’s elimination would see the players form the final three tables.

Phil Willcocks ran his ace-jack into Edison Nguyen’s pocket queens to depart in 27th place, Akash Mazumdar had his aces cracked to fall in 26th while Andy Zarro ran into pocket aces himself to be eliminated in 25th place.

That leaves us with 24 players remaining at the first break of the day. Still a long way short of our final table of nine, but the contenders are starting to emerge. Vincent Chua continues to steam roll his way through this field while other big stacks include Gabriel Messo, Adrian Bolzonello and Dylan Honeyman.

Also still in contention is Luke Brabin, although mostly thanks to a fortunate river card. Brabin was all in recently with ace-queen against Edison Nguyen’s ace-king, but a board of 3♣2♦4♠9♥5♠ brought a chopped pot to keep Brabin alive.


This is Brabin’s sixth career ANZPT cash which places him in the top five of all-time ANZPT cash winners alongside the likes of Tony Hachem (9), Ricky Kroesen (7), Jie Gao (6) and Danny Chevalier (6). After cashing in the ANZPT Sydney earlier this season, Brabin is also in contention for this year’s ANZ Player of the Year. Brabin’s consistency was rewarded with second place in this award last year, and a win here at the ANZPT Melbourne would be enough for Brabin to take over the top spot from Sal Fazzino in this year’s ANZ POTY race.

Heath “TassieDevil” Chick is a Freelance Contributor for the PokerStars Blog.


Next Story