ANZPT Darwin Day 4: Levels 17 & 18 (blinds 4000-8000, ante 500)

October 30, 2010

1:32pm: Tony Hachem eliminated in 10th place

After finding one double up, Tony Hachem was unable to make it two in a row as he pushed stack of 55,000 from the cutoff and Trevor Potts made the call in the big blind.

Hachem: Q♣J♠
Potts: A♦7♦

There was no chanting this time by Hachem as fate took over and ran the board out K♠2♣6♣A♠Q♠ to end his great run in 10th place for a collect of $5,000.

With that elimination our final table of nine is now set. There will be a short break as the players set up on the final table.

1:28pm: Angelo Limanis eliminated in 11th place

After Jie Gao raised the button, Angelo Limanis shoved his stack all in from the big blind with Gao making the call.

Limanis: K♥Q♦
Gao: A♦10♠

The board ran out 10♥10♣8♥Q♣4♣ to give Gao trips and the pot to eliminate Limanis in 11th place for $5,000 in prize money.

1:25pm: Hachem doubles

Tony Hachem moved his last 28,000 in preflop from the small blind with 9♦10♣ and was called by Anthony Flanagan in the big blind with A♠J♠.

Hachem had his head in his lap and couldn’t watch as the board ran out 9♣J♥6♦10♥3♦ to give Hachem two pair for a double up to 58,000.

1:22pm: Edwards doubles through Hachem

After laying down pocket queens preflop a few moments ago to Chris Levick’s pocket kings, Tony Hachem raised and then called it off when Luke Edwards shoved for his last 82,500 from the small blind.

Hachem showed 10♣10♥ and was racing with Edwards’ A♣K♦. Hachem was pleading with the dealer for “nothing stupid” but shrieked in despair as the board was spread 2♣4♣3♠9♣3♣ to give Edwards a flush for the double up.

Edwards is up to 170,000 and has some chips to play with for the first time in a long time, as Hachem is now down to his last 25,000 and in desperate trouble.

1:15pm: Ben Savage eliminated in 12th place

Action folded around to Anthony Flanagan in the small blind who raised it up to 20,000. Ben Savage made the call to see a flop of K♣5♥6♦. Flanagan checked and Savage tossed 20,000 into the middle. Flanagan re-checked his hole cards before moving his stack into the middle. Savage was quick to make the call.

Flanagan: K♠J♣
Savage: K♦Q♦

Savage was in a dominant position to double up but that all changed when the J♠ spiked on the turn to give Flanagan two pair. Savage would need a river lady but it wasn’t to be as the 6♣ completed the board to eliminate the PokerStars qualifier in 12th place for a collect of $5,000.

1:00pm: Level up, blinds 4000-8000, ante 500

12:58pm: English rockets past Crocky

It’s been a rather slow start to the day with Luke Edwards pushing his short stack around and Bruno Portaro chipping up.

However we’ve just seen our first big pot of the day with Billy “The Croc” Argyros and Tim English clashing in a battle of the blinds.

Argyros limped in from the small blind before Tim English popped it to 16,000 in the big blind. Argyros deliberated before splashing the pot with a re-raise to 36,000. English considered his options for several minutes before moving a stack of yellows into the middle to declare a call.

The flop landed 3♣K♦2♥ and Argyros led out for 35,000. English responded by moving all in and Argyros snap-called.

Argyros: K♠Q♣
English: A♣A♥

The turn was the 8♦ and river the 3♥ to give English a massive double up towards the chip leaders with 290,000 as Agyros slipped to 85,000.

12:38pm: The last hurrah

We’re in the Poker Zone of the SKYCITY Casino in Darwin for the final day of play from the ANZPT Darwin Main Event. Twelve players remain but only one will head home as the last ANZPT champion of the year.

Yesterday the headlines were dominated by the herculean effort from Team PokerStars Pro Tony Hachem who had to come from behind to claim the ANZPT Player of the Year honour after a mentally draining day on the felt. With the pressure off, Hachem will return today with nothing to lose as he again looks to make history as the first player to claim multiple ANZPT titles.


ANZPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem

He won’t be the only one seeking that accomplishment as 2009 ANZPT Melbourne champ Chris Levick is also lurking in the field. Levick has been laying low for much of the tournament but will have the final table experience to post a real threat this afternoon.

Another threat is undoubtedly the Australian Poker Hall of Famer in Billy “The Croc” Argyros. Crocky has enjoyed himself in the Top End and an ANZPT title will be the icing on the cake in a remarkable poker career.

However they are all chasing Jie Gao who used his hyper-aggressive style to collect plenty of chips on the bubble to claim the overnight chip lead. Gao has a previous ANZPT final table to his credit so will be looking to go all the way this time around.

Here’s how they will line up:

Jie Gao (PokerStars Qualifier) – 299,000
Billy “The Croc” Argyros – 247,000
Danny “Brotha D” Leaoasavaii – 231,000
Tony Hachem (PokerStars Team PRO Australia) – 187,000
Tim English – 165,000
Chris Levick (PokerStars Sponsored Player) – 153,500
Trevor Potts – 146,000
Angelo Limanis – 114,000
Anthony Flanagan – 103,500
Ben Savage (PokerStars Qualifier) – 103,500
Bruno Portaro – 102,000
Luke Edwards (PokerStars Qualifier) – 76,000

The players are all safely in the money so we should see a few fireworks early on before our official final table is formed.

Before play kicked off there was a special ceremony for the Player of the Year awards with Tony Hachem, John Maklouf and Andrew Scarf recognized for their outstanding achievements this season.


Danny McDonagh and Sam Dawson award the ANZPT Player of the Year trophy to Tony Hachem

Our final twelve have taken their spots in the same seats as yesterday and the cards are once again in the air!



Next Story